Wednesday, April 13, 2016

BOAT RACE DINNER: Washington, D.C., 2016

was held Thursday, April 7, 2016
at the National Press Club, 14th and F Streets, N.W., Top Floor
Cocktails at 7 p.m., Dinner at 8 p.m. 

William W. Chip (Clare, Cambridge) Senior Counsel at Covington & Burling will preside. Bill studied economics at Clare as a Mellon Fellow, earning his law degree at Yale University after serving as a Marine Corps officer in the Pacific.  An international tax lawyer by day, in his spare time he authors (occasionally politically incorrect) articles in economic, political, and religious journals such as The National Interest, The American Conservative, and First Things.

Professor Angela E. Stent (Girton, Cambridge), Professor of Government and Director, Center for Eurasian, Russian and East European Studies, Georgetown University.  She has served on the National Intelligence Council and the Office of Policy Planning, U.S. Department of State.  Her latest book, The Limits of Partnership: US-Russian Relations in the 21st Century (2014), won the Douglas Dillon Prize of the American Academy of Diplomacy. Professor Stent will give the Toast to the Universities.
Professor Sir Drummond Bone, MA, FRSA, FRSE, Hon, LittD, Master of Balliol College and an acknowledged expert of the poetry of Byron and is President of the Scottish Byron Society.  He is the former President of Universities UK, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Liverpool, Principal of Royal Holloway and Bedford New College, University of London and Professor of English Literature and Dean of the Faculty of Arts at the University of Glasgow.  Sir Drummond will give the response from the Universities.

Steven Beller, Jesus, Cambridge
Michael R. Beschloss, St. Antony’s, Oxford
Nicholas Boyle, Emmanuel, Cambridge
Esther Brimmer, New College, Oxford
Patrick Brogan, King’s, Cambridge
Jonathan Davidson, Pembroke, Cambridge
E.J. Dionne Jr., Balliol, Oxford
Lucie Morton Garrett, Manchester, Oxford
Elliot F. Gerson, Magdalen, Oxford
Thomas L. Hughes, Balliol, Oxford
George R. Keys, Jr., Balliol, Oxford, Chairman
David B. Law, Christ Church, Oxford, Hon. Treas.
Sarah Papineau Marshall, King’s, Cambridge 
Janet Matricciani, Trinity, Cambridge 
Amit Pandya, New College, Oxford 
Victoria P. Rostow, King’s, Cambridge 
George Stephanopoulos, Balliol, Oxford 
Cynthia Walker, Girton, Cambridge 
Carolyn H. Williams, Girton, Cambridge 
Edwin M. Yoder, Jr., Jesus, Oxford

No comments:

Post a Comment